Latest articles from "National Dragster":


Husband and Wife Winners(August 14, 2015)

MEMBERSHIP MIDWAY(August 14, 2015)

DSR Nitro Interns(August 14, 2015)

Lombardo Scores for Second Straight Season(August 14, 2015)

SPONSOR SUMMIT(August 14, 2015)

Fetch Is Lone Star for Division 1 Team(August 14, 2015)

Publication: National Dragster
Date published:
Language: English
PMID: 54249
ISSN: 04662199
Journal code: NDRG

SPEEDWORLD DRAGSTRIP, Northwest Phoenix, Ariz. (Oct. 22) - The 2010 Arizona Drag Racing Association (ADRA) season concluded at Speedworld Dragstrip. When the dust had settled, Richard Church (Pro) and Sharyl Gill (Super Pro) were crowned 2010 ADRA champions.

The Super Pro battle primarily involved two other racers, Matt Bong and John Schurr, each of whom won three races during the season, but their prowess could not surpass Gill's determination. Gill had some major mechanical issues with her '69 Camaro early in the season and had to use her tow vehicle for two races. Despite the problems, she never fell below the No. 2 spot in the points chase.

Church was in an extremely tough battle with Ray Bondy throughout the season. Church slipped to No. 3 at one point but accumulated enough overall points to be crowned champion.

ADRA has several contingency sponsors that contribute cash and prizes to club members at each points race: Affordable Powder Coating's "One Shot," Cindy Claflin De-Brocke Century 21 Realty's "Bounty," Morrison Auto Machine's "Best Reaction Time in Eliminations," Magoo's Automotive "Best Winning Package," Specialty Automotive's "BART" (Best Average Reaction Time), Diane Dyer's "Wake-up" (worst qualifying reaction time during an event), Speedway Race Fuels' random fuel draw, anonymous racersponsored "Who Got the Light," and Zimmerman Racing Engines, which gave in-house labor to first- and second-place racers in both categories. Additional end-of-season awards were presented by Hoosier, Mickey Thompson, and Goodyear.

Super Pro's Schurr had the most individual contingency awards at 18, with the majority being "One Shot" wins, and Mike Zimmerman was a close second in contingency wins with 17, with the bulk of his wins coming in "BART." The most Pro wins went to Bondy with 10 contingency prizes, which were spread evenly through the multitude of contingency sponsors.

Speedworld Dragstrip will host the annual ADRA Memorial Race Dec. 5 and a banquet to honor drivers, sponsors, and champions Dec. 12. The first race of the 2011 season is set for Jan. 8. - Bruce Mabry

The use of this website is subject to the following Terms of Use