Latest articles from "National Dragster":


Husband and Wife Winners(August 14, 2015)

MEMBERSHIP MIDWAY(August 14, 2015)

DSR Nitro Interns(August 14, 2015)

Lombardo Scores for Second Straight Season(August 14, 2015)

SPONSOR SUMMIT(August 14, 2015)

Fetch Is Lone Star for Division 1 Team(August 14, 2015)

Publication: National Dragster
Date published:
Language: English
PMID: 54249
ISSN: 04662199
Journal code: NDRG

Shirley Muldowney was honored as the recipient of the 2011 Mildred Marcum Pioneer Award, highlighting the 9th annual Women in the Winner's Circle Foundation award celebration. The event was held Thursday, Sept. 1, at Don Schumacher Racing headquarters. The Women in the Winner's Circle Foundation was founded by Lyn St. James, who has dedicated much of her life after retiring from racing to help women achieve their goals and aspirations in the motorsports field. Muldowney was the second drag racer to win the Mildred Marcum Pioneer Award, which is presented to females in racing who through their dedication and passion for the sport have changed racing for women. In 2006, Barbara Parks, wife of NHRA founder Wally Parks, received the award posthumously. NHRA was well-represented in other categories; Kim LaHaie Richards, co-crew chief for Ron Capps, was named winner of the C&R Racing Woman in Technology Award, and the 2011 Opportunity Award was given to Roger Burgess and R2B2 Racing. Among the women of drag racing in attendance were Samantha Coughlin, Alexis DeJoria, Erica Enders, Peggy Llewellyn, Leah Pruett, and Melanie Troxel.

The use of this website is subject to the following Terms of Use