Latest articles from "National Dragster":


Husband and Wife Winners(August 14, 2015)

MEMBERSHIP MIDWAY(August 14, 2015)

DSR Nitro Interns(August 14, 2015)

Lombardo Scores for Second Straight Season(August 14, 2015)

SPONSOR SUMMIT(August 14, 2015)

Fetch Is Lone Star for Division 1 Team(August 14, 2015)

Publication: National Dragster
Date published:
Language: English
PMID: 54249
ISSN: 04662199
Journal code: NDRG

1 Tony Schumacher 67

"The Sarge" scored 48 of his wins during his epic six-year title reign between 2004 and 2009. He only had one career win when he was crowned champion for the first time in 1999.

2 Larry Dixon 62

Currently on the sidelines, he and Schumacher traded places atop the list a few times after they both passed Joe Amato. Dixon added season titles in 2002, 2003, and 2010.

3 Joe Amato 52

Whether it was his skill behind the wheel, long pairings with tuners Tim Richards and Jimmy Prock, or his lucky Snoopy underwear, the five-time world champ knew how to win and did it six more times as a team owner after his 2000 retirement.

4 Kenny Bernstein 39

The four-time Funny Car champ switched to Top Fuel in 1990 and became "the King of Speed" with his historic 301.70-mph pass in 1992. He added season titles in 1996 and 2001 before his retirement.

5 Don Garlits 35

The wins only begin to tell the legend of "Big Daddy," who raced in an era when there weren't as many events on the schedule. He popularized the rear-engine dragster and was voted No. 1 on the NHRA Top 50 Drivers list in 2001.

6 Cory McClenathan 34

Cory Mac is the winningest driver on the list who hasn't scored a title. He scored his first win with his family's independent operation in 1992 and his most recent with the FRAM team in 2010.

7 Doug Kalitta 32

The former sprint-car champion started winning when he first began driving for his uncle, Connie, in 1998 and has been in the mix ever since

8 Gary Scelzi 25

The versatile "Wild Thing" won three Top Fuel championships driving for the Johnson family before switching to Funny Car and capturing the 2005 title.

9 Gary Beck 19

The 1974 and 1983 world champ got his competition license weeks before he won Indy in 1972. His legacy also includes being the first driver in the 5.60s, 5.50s, 5.40s, and 5.30s.

10 Shirley Muldowney 18

She wasn't only the first female Top Fuel champ, but she was also the first driver to win three Top Fuel titles.

Brandon Bernstein 18

The second-generation driver averaged more than three wins per season for the first half-decade of his career.

Darrell Gwynn 18

"The Kid" racked up all these wins in a span of just more than four calendar years before his driving career ended abruptly in 1990.

The use of this website is subject to the following Terms of Use